Viewing Record 77 of 824
Previous Record  Next Record
Switch Views: Lightbox | Image List | List

Title: Boundary of the New Borough of Beverley
Item Name: Local Government
Maker: Greenwood, J.


Plan of Beverley Borough, copied from a Parliamentary report, showing parish boundaries and the proposed boundary of the new Borough of Beverley (now somewhat faded). The river Hull is coloured in blue. Based on a parliamentary report. Handwritten notes in faded blue ink at the top, partially illegible: - "The liberties of Beverley comprise 6 townships, formerly(?) the parish of St. John over which the .....of the Bor[ough].....extends. These are Molescroft, Storkhill-cum-Sandholme, Tickton-cum-Hull-Bridge, Weel, Woodmansea-cum-Beverley parks, & Thearne. They surround the town of Beverley except on the west side and were part of the parish(?) of St. John." One interesting feature is the presence of no fewer than 5 mills on the Westwood/Hurn. In a card mount.

Materials: paper; ink
Measurements: W:40.5/28cm, L:56/39cm
ID_Number: ERYMS (BAG) : 1997.832